A late post: Running in the snow

When I put my 5-year-old daughter, Maisie, to sleep at 8:00 tonight, I fell asleep and didn’t wake up until midnight.  I missed my posting deadline for today.  I broke my streak.  Big deal, I know.

I did run—just a mile around a big city block–to keep my running streak alive.

But I ran in the snow, in the dark, at a little bit after 5:00 or so.  Chicago got a few inches this afternoon, the first snow of the year.  When I came home from work at 3:30,  my condo neighbor and I shoveled our backyard parking lot.   The snow continued into the evening, and it will have to be done again in the morning.  I guess I will set the alarm for an earlier wake up when I go to sleep, after this post.  There is a chance, even, that we will have a school snow day tomorrow.

Running in the snow and the dark, it was interesting how many people were out on the sidewalks around the University of Chicago at that time.  I can’t remember the last time I had an experience like that, dodging people on the sidewalks, in the snow.  Most of the sidewalks on my path had been cleared of snow.  When I passed the wide groups on the sidewalk, though, I had to run around them into the snow.  I ran slowly, placing my feet carefully with each step, through the thin layer of snow.

I saw another runner, running past me in the other direction across the narrow street,  and when we passed each other, we exchanged a nod of hello.

1 Comment

Filed under running

One response to “A late post: Running in the snow

  1. Storm here last night also… Lotsa snow, rain today..

    cheers

Leave a Reply

